top of page

Nicki Minaj Opens Up About Her Father's Death

Updated: Jan 8



Nicki Minaj dropped her highly anticipated album Pink Friday 2, In December of 2023.

The first song on the album, "Are You Gone Already," is about Nicki Minaj's Father.
She explained on an Interview with Apple, "Right after I had the baby, it was during corona, and nobody knew what was going on. That day, as I'm rocking him, the phone rings, and I see it's my father. I normally wouldn't have picked up because I don't like to be on the phone with the baby there. I would've called him back. Something said, 'Pick up the phone.' I picked up, he was very happy, and he was like, 'Baby, I could come on Monday?' because he had been waiting to come to Cali to help me. I kept on saying, 'Come on out.' He wasn't really happy, but I knew that when he came to be with us, we were going to be happy. He is this amazing, great person who livens up the whole house. I was like, 'Yes, we were going to get help.' And then later that night, her mother Carol Manaj called to tell her that her father had been hit by a car in a hit-and-run."

 Charles Polevich the driver involved in the hit-and-run incident that took the life of rapper Nicki Minaj's father last year received a sentence of only one-year in jail. Polevich, who admitted to leaving the scene and tampering with evidence in the fatal crash on New York's Long Island, also faces a $5,000 fine and a six-month suspension of his driver's license.
In a November 2023 interview with Vogue, Minaj shared, "Reflecting on my father's struggle with addiction, I wish I had understood back then that he wasn't doing it because he wanted to." Minaj shared that because her dad never met her son, she wanted to start Pink Friday 2 by talking to him.



You can tune in to Nicki Minaj's Pink Friday 2 on various streaming platforms.
14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page